Twelve teams set for Asian Sevens event

(IRB.COM) Friday 20 September 2013
 Twelve teams set for Asian Sevens event
China and Japan are the top seeds in the Asian Women's Sevens Series round in Thailand

In another first for Asian rugby, this weekend the Asian Rugby Football Union will host one of two ranking events on the 2013 Asian Women’s Sevens Series within an HSBC Asian Sevens Series tournament.
Twelve top women’s teams will compete in the first round of the Series in Thailand, kicking off the action on Friday and with the finals held alongside the men's tournament.
The women’s tournament features Asia’s reigning women’s Sevens champions China and runners-up Japan alongside third-ranked Kazakhstan and fourth-ranked Hong Kong.

China and Japan are seeded into Pool W and Z, while Kazakhstan and Hong Kong top Pool X and Y respectively.
The other participating teams in the opening event on this year's Asian Women’s Sevens Series are hosts Thailand, Singapore, Chinese Taipei and the Philippines in the second seeding band, and Sri Lanka, Korea, Guam and Laos in the third.
China is pooled with Philippines and Laos; Japan is matched against Chinese Taipei and Korea; Kazakhstan face Singapore and Guam and Hong Kong will play hosts Thailand and Sri Lanka.  
The second and final Asian Women’s Sevens Series ranking event will be held in Pune, India, in November.


Round 4
5-6 April 2014

Venue: Guangzhou Uni Town Stadium
City: Guangzhou
Capacity: 50,000

Series Standings
1New ZealandNew Zealand96
  • New Zealand win China Sevens
  • England - Plate Winners
  • Ireland - Bowl Winners