Dutch unveil women's squad for Dubai

(IRB.COM) Friday 23 November 2012
 Dutch unveil women's squad for Dubai
Members of the Netherlands ladies Sevens side ahead of the first round of the IRB Women's Sevens World Series. Photo: Jasper Faber

The Netherlands Rugby Union has announced its squad of 12 to compete at the first round of the IRB Women's Sevens World Series in Dubai.

Among the 12 players named, the Dutch welcome back Pien Selbeck and Nicole Kwee from long injury lay-offs.

The Dutch, who receive the assistance of the country's National Olympic Committee, are one of six 'core' teams set to play in all four rounds of the Series, and will also host the final round in Amsterdam on 17-18 May 2013.

At the final Challenge Cup event of last season in London, Gareth Gilbert's side demonstrated its rapid improvement and vast potential by beating reigning World Champions Australia to reach the Cup final at Twickenham. They will be hoping to go one better in Dubai.

Netherlands squad: Linda Franssen (C); Lorraine Laros (V/C), Pien Selbeck, Inge Visser, Joyce van Altena, Kelly van Harskamp, Anne Hielckert, Tessa Veldhuis, Alexia Mavroudis, Tessel van Dongen, Annemarije van Rossum, Nicole Kwee

For regular updates you can follow the Dutch Sevens Ladies team on Facebook and Twitter (@dutchsevensladies).


Round 5
22-23 May 2015

Venue: NRCA Stadium
City: Amsterdam
Capacity: TBC

Series Standings
1New ZealandNew Zealand96
  • Amsterdam Sevens - USA Plate Winners
  • Amsterdam Sevens -
  • Amsterdam Sevens - Emilee Cherry Player of the Year