Final squads announced for Amsterdam Sevens

(IRB.COM) Thursday 16 May 2013
 Final squads announced for Amsterdam Sevens
Olympic gold medallist Heather Moyse is set to make her debut on the IRB Women's Sevens World Series

The 12 squads for the fourth and final round of the inaugural IRB Women's Sevens World Series have been announced.

Hosts Netherlands have been forced into a late change after Tessa Veldhuis was ruled out with an injury sustained in training, while Olympic Gold medalist Heather Moyse is named in John Tait's Canadian side.


Current Series leaders New Zealand name three players set to make their World Series debut, Vaine Greig, Renee Wickliffe and Alexis Tapsell, and will be captained again by Huriana Manuel. Portia Woodman, the Series' leading points and try scorer is also named.

Last week's London Sevens winners England make six changes from the side that lifted the title at Twickenham.

Katy McLean will captain England with Claire Allan being handed the vice-captaincy armband. Barry Maddocks also recalls Emily Scott, Ruth Laybourn, Abigail Chamberlain and Natasha Brennan while Sonia Green and Kay Wilson will make their first starts on the Series.

“Our result in London at the weekend was fantastic but this will be a very different looking squad heading to Amsterdam for the final round of the World Series," said Maddocks.

“It is really important that at this time of year, with the Rugby World Cup getting closer and closer, that as many of our players get more game time under their belts and are given the opportunity to put their hands up for World Cup selection again.”

The final round of the IRB Women's Sevens World Series will also be streamed live from Amsterdam on

Captains launch Amsterdam Sevens


Round 5
22-23 May 2015

Venue: NRCA Stadium
City: Amsterdam
Capacity: TBC

Series Standings
1New ZealandNew Zealand96
  • Amsterdam Sevens - USA Plate Winners
  • Amsterdam Sevens -
  • Amsterdam Sevens - Emilee Cherry Player of the Year