Australia crowned champions in Brazil

(IRB.COM) Sunday 23 February 2014
 Australia crowned champions in Brazil
Australlia were crowned champions in Sao Paulo on Saturday night

In front of raucous crowds, in blissful sunshine and in heavy downpours, Rugby came to Brazil and made it's mark.

Just two years out from Rugby's return to the Olympic Games in nearby Rio, crowds flocked to Arena Barueri in Sao Paulo to watch the IRB Women's Sevens World Series come to Brazil for the first time.

And what a tournament they were treated to, with tries, tackles and superb skills on display in a festive Brazilian atmosphere.

New Zealand and Australia played out a classic in the rain at Arena Baureri, with Australia beating their Tasman rivals in the Cup final for the second time this season.

With tries from the likes of Emilee Cherry, Emma Tonegato and Charlotte Caslick, Australia always looked the best team and quenched any hopes of a New Zealand comeback in the second half.

Australian Emilee Cherry was named tournament most valuable player (MVP) after a strong performance for her side throughout the third round of the Series.

"It was a real team effort tonight, everyone really stepped it up and did their job, we really played as a team," said Cherry.


Sean Horan, the New Zealand coach, was disappointed with the performance of his charges, who were unbeaten until the final.

"It hurts like any loss but at the end of the day you have two of the best teams in the World playing at the moment."

"We are a young team and we still got a lot of work to do but i'm still very proud of those girls."

The plate final was won by Spain who beat Russia in the rain, while the bowl final went to USA after they defeated home side Brazil, who had earlier got the crowd on their feet with a famous victory over Ireland.  

Speaking after the final in Sao Paulo, IRB Head of Competitions and Performance Mark Egan said: "The standard of competition this weekend was outstanding."

"We are really happy with how the tournament has gone, and it was especially important to bring a top class event like this to Brazil, just two years out from the 2016 Rio Olympic Games. Competition like this prepares the world’s top women for what it will be like in Rio, and they will benefit enormously from it."


Teams will now take some time out after the first Women's Sevens World Series back-to-back events in Atlanta and Sao Paulo, before preparing for the next round in Guangzhou, China in early April.

Australia, Canada, England, Ireland, New Zealand, Russia, Spain and USA are core teams on the 2013/14 IRB Women’s Sevens World Series after reaching the quarter-finals of Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013. The eight core teams compete across all rounds of the Series.

IRB Women's Sevens World Series 2013/14: Dates and Venues:

First leg: Dubai, United Arab Emirates - November 28-29, 2013

Second leg: Atlanta, Georgia, USA - February 15-16, 2014

Third leg: Arena Barueri, São Paulo, Brazil - February 21-22, 2014

Fourth leg: Guangzhou University Town Stadium, Guangzhou, China - April 4-6 2014

Fifth leg: National Rugby Centrum, Amsterdam, Netherlands - May 16-17, 2014


WSWS - Brazil

Round 3
07-08 February 2015
Venue: Arena Barueri
City: Barueri, São Paulo
Capacity: 31,000

Series Standings
1New ZealandNew Zealand96
  • Danielle Waterman - England
  • Ireland v Australia
  • Sao Paolo Sevens Winners Australia