Website goes live for Women's Sevens Series

(IRB.COM) Wednesday 7 November 2012
 Website goes live for Women's Sevens Series
The IRB Women's Sevens World Series trophy

• Website to give unrivalled coverage of inaugural Women's Sevens World Series
• Online highlights guaranteed from each match day of the Series
• Rights-free content to allow media to report from around the world
• Women's Rugby one of fastest growing team sports on road to Rio 2016

With a little over three weeks until the start of the inaugural IRB Women's Sevens World Series in Dubai, the official tournament website is now live at

The website is the first of its kind for the women's Game and offers dedicated news, Series information, Video, audio, rights-free media material and fan-focussed Social Media content.

There are also sections focussed on the four rounds of the Series in Dubai, USA, China and the Netherlands, offering news, fixtures and results, pools, squads, statistics and photos.

From each round of the Series, official IRB highlights edits will be made available online, both on the official website and also via the IRB's youtube channel at

Dubai is set to host the first round of the Series, as part of the Emirates Airline Dubai Rugby Sevens, alongside round two of the men's HSBC Sevens World Series.

Thereafter, the women's tournaments will take place in new exciting markets where both growth and appetite for women's rugby is strong, in Houston (USA), Guangzhou (China) and Amsterdam (Netherlands).

"This Series is a first for the Women's Game and is a major milestone for both the IRB and each of the unions hosting and participating, especially this season as they all build towards the Rugby World Cup Sevens 2013 in Moscow," said IRB Chairman, Bernard Lapasset.

"Women's rugby already has a significant following around the world, which is growing all the time, and this official website, combined with its related social media platforms, gives those and other new fans the information and news they want."

IRB Women’s Sevens World Series
Round 1 – UAE: Dubai, November 30 – December 1, 2012 – 7he Sevens Stadium
Round 2 – USA: Houston, Texas, 1-2 February, 2013 - BBVA Compass Stadium
Round 3 – China: Guangzhou, 30-31 March 2013 - Guangzhou University Town Stadium
Round 4 – Netherlands: Amsterdam, 17-18 May 2013 - NRCA Stadium